Problems downloading .vhd from Microsoft

Thought I’d post since this seems to be common enough, but I downloaded the latest SharePoint WSS 3.0 Virtual PC files only to have found I wasted my time since during the extraction I was presented with:

Packed data CRC failed in WSS-July2008.vhd

And the first bit is common for other VHD downloads too I believe – including the CRM VPC download, the MOSS download, and others.

Turns out the problem is downloading the file in resume mode and/or multiple connections. Thus, don’t use a download manager!

After I went back and re-downloaded (all 4 GB) using just the native IE download (and being sure to start again after a connection dropped out half way through) I got a clean download and successful rar extraction…

Hopefully that helps some frustrated soul…

Love,
Reddog.

Leave a Reply

